The last words of Anne Boleyn, Friday May 19th 1536.

Good Christen people, I am come hether to dye, for according to the lawe, and by the lawe I am judged to dye, and therefore I wyll speake nothynge agaynst it. I am come hether to accuse no man, nor to speke anything of that, whereof I am accused and condempned to dye, but I pray God save the king and send him long to reygne over you, for a gentler nor a more mercifull prince was there never: and to me he was ever a good, a gentle and soveraygne lorde. And yf anye persone wyll medle of my cause, I require of them to judge the best. And thus I take my leve of the worlde and of you all, and I hertely desyre you all to praye for me. O Lorde have mercy on me, to God I commende my soule.

The Hever Portrait.

The Hever Portrait.

The final words of Anne Boleyn upon the scaffold, May 19th 1536 as recorded by the chronicler Edward Hall.

Edward Hall, The Triumphant Reign of Henry VIII ed., T.C. & E.C Jack (London, 1904) pp. 268 – 269

You can view a screen cap of the text here.

5 thoughts on “The last words of Anne Boleyn, Friday May 19th 1536.

  1. When you read her last words and her last letter to Henry, you really can see her emotional side, the side that’s often forgotten in modern portrayals where her ambition is everything.

    Like

    • She’s has become some enigmatic political beast hasn;t she? I think we forget to often that her and Henry alike at a base level where humans.

      I do particularly like the ‘…medle of my cause…’ line, ‘judge the best.’ Isn’t that what historians/screen writers/directors/novelists have been doing with her story for centuries? Arguing over who judges the tale the best? 😀

      Like

  2. Pingback: Pomegranate meets the Rose, 11th June 1509 | The History Graduate

  3. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked
    submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing
    all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

    Like

  4. Hi, Neat post. There’s an issue with your site in web explorer, would check this?
    IE nonetheless is the market leader and a huge component of folks will omit your excellent writing because of this problem.

    Like

Share your thoughts ...

